CSAM-SMCA Certification is valid as long as the certificate remains a member of CSAM and a member in good standing of their licensing body and the CFPC/FRCP/CMQ.   Members obtain certification by fulfilling the following criteria:

  • Hold a medical license from Canada that is in good standing with the licensing authority
  • Successful completion of the International Society of Addiction Medicine (ISAM) examination, or the American Board of Addiction Medicine (ABAM)
  • Recipients of a Certificate of Added Competence (CAC) in Addiction Medicine from the Canadian College of Family Physicians through the leader route will be considered without completion of the ISAM or ABAM examination.
  • Successful completion of postgraduate medical training with certification from one of the following three:
    1. College des Médecins du Québec
    2. Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
    3. College of Family Physicians of Canada.
  • Current membership in the Canadian Society of Addiction Medicine (Certificants may consent to have their names on the CSAM-SMCA webpage)
  •  CSAM-SMCA Certificants will adhere to the following requirements for the duration of CSAM-SMCA Certification:
    1. Maintain membership (i.e. status as good-standing) in the Canadian Society of Addiction Medicine AND:
    2. Participate in CSAM-related activities and/or other efforts to advance the field of addiction medicine in Canada.
  • Provide an up-to-date CV
  • Provide two (2) brief reference letters from a member in good standing of CSAM, ISAM, or ABAM.  Letter of reference must be sent to the CSAM office direct from the author, and be independent of the other documents submitted by the applicant.  There is no reference letter requirement if the applicant’s date of ISAM or ABAM exam or receipt of CAC is within the last two (2) years. GUIDELINE
  • A personal statement outlining your experience in addiction medicine, and why you are pursuing CSAM certification. GUIDELINE

If a candidate is unable to meet any of the above certification requirements please contact CSAM for discussion.  A $100 processing fee is also required.

Applications for certification will be received yearly until August 1, then reviewed by the committee and awarded at the annual conference.  You will be advised by August 30 if you are a successful candidate.


Physician Name City, Province
Arif Chaudhri Toronto, ON
Alvis Yu Calgary, AB
Anne Sophie Marsolais Montreal, QC
Bonnie Madonik Toronto, ON
Charles Whelton Qualicum Beach, BC
Chris Cavacuiti Toronto, ON
Christine Saveland Ottawa, ON
Claudia Kraft Yellowknife, NT
Conrad Sichler Burlington, ON
D. Randal Mason Vancouver, BC
Dale Pepper Dover Centre, ON
Daniel Pare Vancouver, BC
Darren Holub Oakville, ON
David Crockford Calgary, AB
David Evans Richmond, BC
David Luckow Montreal, QC
David Marsh Thunder Bay, ON
David Martell Lunenburg, NS
Doug McGhee Victoria, BC
Fraser MacKay St. Catherines, ON
Gary Barwitzki Sarnia, ON
Gary Horvath Vancouver, BC
Gary Richardson Nanaimo, BC
Gaurav Mehta Newmarket, ON
Graeme Cunningham Guelph, ON
Gurpreet Sidhu London, ON
Harbir Gill Calgary, AB
Hugh Colohan Calgary, AB
I. Michael Kaufmann Toronto, ON
Jason Datema Burlington, ON
Jean Perreault St. Joseph-du-Lac, QC
Jean Pierre Chiasson Montreal, QC
Jeff Daiter Toronto, ON
Joseph Fox Montreal, QC
Karen Arnold Vancouver, BC
Karen Hossack Station Whonnock, BC
Kawai Leong New Westminster, BC
Krishna Balachandra Edmonton, AB
Larina Reyes-Smith Mission, BC
Laura Evans Calgary, AB
Leo O. Lanoie Prince Albert, SK
Lester Michael Toronto, ON
Linda Robinson Ottawa, ON
Lisa Lefebvre Toronto, ON
Lorinda Spooner West Vancouver, BC
Louis Morissette Ottawa, ON
Lucila Nerenberg Victoria, BC
Lydia Vezina Calgary, AB
Lynda MacBeath Shawnigan Lake, BC
Mandy Manak Kamloops, BC
Maris Anderson Toronto, ON
Mark Riley Surrey, BC
Martin Schleich London, ON
Melanie Willows Ottawa, ON
Merville Vincent Nanoose Bay, BC
Michael Varenbut Toronto, ON
Mir Mazhar Kingston, ON
Monty Ghosh Calgary, AB
Morag Fisher Winnipeg, MB
Nader Attalla Calgary, AB
Nady el-Guebaly Calgary, AB
Omar Rahaman Edmonton, AB
Orlando Passerin Kamloops, BC
Paul Farnan Richmond, BC
Paul Mulzer Thunder Bay, ON
Paul Sobey Surrey, BC
Peter Farago Windsor, ON
Raju Hajela Calgary, AB
Ramm Hering Victoria, BC
Richard Kimacovich St. Catherines, ON
Robert Baker Kamloops, BC
Robert Cooper Toronto, ON
Robert Pereira Surrey, BC
Robert Tanguay Calgary, AB
Ronald Lim Calgary, AB
Samuel Oluwadairo Calgary, AB
Shaik Ali Maple Creek, BC
Sonia Habibian West Vancouver, BC
Sridhar Nilam St. Catherines, ON
Stephen Darcy St. John’s, NL
Trevor Gillmore Maple, ON
Wendy Tolmie Guelph, ON
Wilhelmina Wildenboer-Williams Regina, SK
William Campbell Calgary, AB
William Doran Wolfville, NS
William Hay Vancouver, BC